The Just Because Hugs.

I suppose that we all go through periods of feeling unappreciated; however, I feel that I go through them more than I should. I guess the feeling derives from not feeling loved enough though I know I am; I just can’t feel it.

But today reminded me of that love and appreciation I don’t feel as often as I use to.

A good friend came up to me, and like anybody else would, I went in for a high five, but he went in for a hug. It was a hug I was not expecting; it was a strong hug, and it took me by surprise to say the least. It was nice. I suppose that was the appreciation and love I have been looking for. In that moment, I realized that it had been right in front of me the whole time, and I neglected to notice it. Maybe I am not the sole focus of his affection, but the appreciation is there. The little sign of “you are loved” was there.

That hug was God-sent. In the midst of my crazy life, sorting out drama, and feeling highly unappreciated as I so often do, a hug put me all back together again. Things were put back into perspective. It is nice to get a hug every once in a while for no reason at all. The just because hugs. Those are the best.

Leave a Reply

