This is it.

It’s true what they say: high school flies by so fast. It still has not fully hit me that it is almost over.

For so long I waited to be a senior; my last Friday night football game is one memory that I will hold close to me forever. The drum line, the dancing, the people, the smiles and laughter. They were all so authentic. All of us chanting “one more time” to the drum line in hopes of it never having to end.

I thought to myself in that moment, “This it it.”

There are so many lasts that are escaping from me all to quickly. It comes and goes, and all we are left with are the memories. The memory of you dancing like you have never danced before with the people who have stood by you for years. And it sucks not knowing if there will be any more after that.

It is scary not knowing. It is crazy to think that in three years or so, some will be engaged, and then married, and then forget about your existence completely.

I have not fully accepted that I have been to my last high school pep rally and my last home football game where everything felt so right in the world. They are all just memories now. Just pictures that bring upon a smile and a tear every time I look at them.

This is it.

Leave a Reply

